Comparison
AI running coach apps, compared.
What “AI coach” actually means in eleven running apps: who talks during the run, who listens, who builds the plan, and what it costs.
Facts checked on October 23, 2026, from the sources at the bottom of this page. We make RunWay, so we’ve kept to verifiable facts; if something has changed, email dorich@icloud.com and we’ll update it.
Almost every running app now mentions AI. Behind the same two letters you’ll find very different things: a generated voice that cheers you on, fixed audio cues that read out your splits, a chat window you open after the run, or an algorithm that moves your workouts around. This page sorts the apps we looked at by what they actually do, so you can pick the AI running coach app that fits how you train.
What “AI running coach” can mean
When an app says it has an AI coach, it usually means one of three things, sometimes several:
- A voice that speaks during the run, written on the fly. Apple Workout Buddy turns your workout data into a generated voice. RunWay writes each cue from your GPS, heart rate and cadence. Kyde, StrideCue and Stride AI also speak in real time.
- Audio that was written or recorded in advance. Runna reads out fixed cue types such as splits and pace alerts. Nike Run Club plays Audio Guided Runs led by Nike coaches and athletes.
- AI that works outside the run. Strava’s Athlete Intelligence writes text summaries of your activities, Garmin’s Active Intelligence sends written prompts, and Leo Training is a coach you chat with.
“Adaptive plan” is a separate idea. It means the schedule or the paces change based on what you do and how you feel. Most of the apps below adapt plans with rules written by coaches; that has little to do with whether the app can talk to you.
At a glance (October 2026)
| App | Voice in the run | Ask mid-run | Adaptive plans | Trail / ultra | French | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RunWay | AI-written cues in a natural voice; built-in phrases offline | Yes, hold the mic button | Yes, reads readiness from Apple Health | Yes, 5 to 200+ km with elevation gain | Yes, app and voice | Free app; optional AI coaching packs, no subscription |
| Runna | Fixed cue types: splits, pace alerts, laps | Not described | Yes | Not yet, per its help center (plans up to 50 km); its App Store listing mentions ultra | Yes (app) | $19.99/month or $119.99/year, 7-day trial |
| Apple Workout Buddy | Generated voice from Apple Intelligence | Not described by Apple | No plans mentioned | No plans mentioned | No (English, Spanish) | Built into watchOS; no separate price |
| Nike Run Club | Audio Guided Runs led by Nike coaches and athletes | Not described | Plans; adaptation not stated | No (plans up to the marathon) | Yes, app and some Guided Runs | Free |
| Kiprun Pacer | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, adjusts after each debrief | Yes, trail up to 120+ km | Yes | Free |
| Strava | Not stated | Not stated | Through Runna | Through Runna | Yes (app) | $11.99/month or $79.99/year |
| Garmin Coach / Connect+ | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, free Garmin Coach plans (5K, 10K, half) | Not stated | Yes (app) | Garmin Coach free; Connect+ $6.99/month |
| Kyde | Real-time spoken coaching | Voice input in chat; mid-run not stated | Multi-week programs | Not stated | No (English) | $14.99/month or $149.99/year, 7-day trial |
| StrideCue | Live audio cues; messages written with the help of AI | Not stated | Yes, 5K to marathon | No (up to the marathon) | App interface yes; voice not stated | $5.99/week or $99.99/year |
| Stride AI | Real-time voice coaching; how it’s generated is not stated | Not stated | Yes: run-walk, 5K, 10K, race prep | No | No (English) | Free, no purchases listed |
| Leo Training | No in-run voice mentioned; chat coach | Chat, outside the run | Yes, weekly | Trail yes; ultra not stated | Yes | 9.99/month after a 7-day trial |
“Not stated” means we found nothing either way on the maker’s pages; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. App Store language lists cover the interface, not always the coaching voice.
How to choose
You want a coach that talks back
If the point is to hear a coach react to your run and to ask “Can I hold this pace?” without stopping, look for two things: a voice written from your live data, and a way to ask questions out loud. RunWay does both: hold the mic button, ask, and the answer comes from your live numbers. See how the AI voice coach in your earbuds works.
You want the biggest plan library
Runna covers race and distance plans from 5K to 50 km, plus Hyrox, triathlon run legs, post-injury, postpartum and beginner plans, with apps for Apple Watch and Android and support for Garmin, COROS and Suunto. If that range matters more than a talking coach, it’s a strong pick. Our RunWay vs Runna comparison goes into detail.
You want free and built in
Apple Workout Buddy costs nothing extra on a recent Apple Watch paired with an Apple Intelligence iPhone, with Bluetooth headphones. It speaks English or Spanish and gives encouragement, milestones and a recap; Apple doesn’t describe training plans or answering questions. Read RunWay vs Apple Workout Buddy. Nike Run Club is also free, with Audio Guided Runs and plans up to the marathon: see RunWay vs Nike Run Club.
You run in French
Runna, Nike Run Club, Strava, Garmin and Kiprun Pacer all offer a French interface, and Nike has French Guided Runs. Workout Buddy doesn’t speak French. RunWay was built in French first, with tutoiement and French voices, and its English is just as complete.
You train for trail or ultra
Kiprun Pacer offers free trail plans up to 120+ km. Leo Training covers trail through its chat coach. RunWay’s trail and ultra plans go from 5 to 200+ km with elevation gain, count ultra training in hours, and the coach calls out elapsed time and climbing during long runs. Runna says it doesn’t offer dedicated trail or ultra plans yet.
You train watch-first
If you want to leave the phone at home, choose an app with a watch app: Runna, Nike Run Club, StrideCue and Kyde have one, and Workout Buddy runs on Apple Watch itself. RunWay doesn’t have a watch app yet: the coach talks from your iPhone, and runs from Apple Watch, Garmin, COROS, Polar, Suunto, Wahoo or Zepp join your history through Apple Health.
You mostly want analysis after the run
Strava’s Athlete Intelligence (subscribers) and Garmin’s Active Intelligence write text insights from your data. Leo Training lets you chat about your training on the web, in its apps or in tools like Claude and ChatGPT. None of them describe a live voice during the run.
Where RunWay fits, limits included
RunWay is a free iPhone app with a live voice coach that writes its cues from your data, answers your questions mid-run, and lowers your music while it speaks. It builds adaptive training plans from a first 5K to the marathon, trail and ultra, reads your readiness in Apple Health, and keeps talking offline with built-in phrases. There’s no subscription and no ads; the AI voice uses coaching time, with free hours at sign-up and optional packs of 3, 10 or 30 hours (the App Store shows the price in your currency).
Its limits: iPhone only (iOS 18 or later), no Android, no Apple Watch app yet, and a plan library focused on running, without Hyrox, triathlon or postpartum plans.
Head-to-head comparisons
RunWay vs Runna
Plans, audio, trail, French and price: a fair, sourced comparison with Runna.
ComparisonRunWay vs Apple Workout Buddy
Built into Apple Watch vs a running coach that plans, guides and answers: devices, languages, plans and price.
ComparisonRunWay vs Nike Run Club
Recorded Guided Runs vs a live coach that answers: plans, watches, languages and price compared.
FAQ
What is the best AI running coach app?
It depends on what you want the coach to do. For a voice that reacts to your run and answers questions out loud, RunWay. For the widest plan library and a watch app, Runna. For something free on Apple Watch, Workout Buddy. For free plans in French with trail, Kiprun Pacer. The table above shows the trade-offs.
Is there a free AI running coach?
Yes. Apple Workout Buddy is built into watchOS, Stride AI lists no purchases, and Nike Run Club and Kiprun Pacer are free (their coaching isn’t described as AI-generated). RunWay is free with built-in phrases and free AI coaching hours at sign-up; more AI time is optional, with no subscription.
Which running apps talk to you during a run?
RunWay, Apple Workout Buddy, Kyde, StrideCue and Stride AI speak in real time. Runna reads out fixed audio cues, and Nike Run Club plays Audio Guided Runs led by its coaches and athletes.
Can an AI running coach replace a human coach?
For many runners an app is enough to train with structure and stay consistent. A human coach still brings things an app can’t, like watching your form or knowing your life in detail. For pain or any health question, see a health professional: these apps are for training and wellness only.
Sources
- How to Create a Training Plan in Runna, Runna Help Center, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Setting Up and Managing Your Audio Cues, Runna Help Center, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Runna pricing, Runna, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Runna: Running Plans & Coach, App Store listing, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Apple advances health and fitness capabilities using Apple Intelligence, Apple Newsroom, September 9, 2026.
- Use Workout Buddy on Apple Watch, Apple Support, consulted October 23, 2026.
- watchOS 26 delivers more personalized ways to stay active, healthy, and connected, Apple Newsroom, June 9, 2025.
- Nike Run Club: Running Coach, App Store listing, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Kiprun Pacer Courir Running, App Store listing (France), consulted October 23, 2026.
- Strava pricing, Strava, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Athlete Intelligence on Strava, Strava Support, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Which Adaptive Training Plan Is Right for You?, Garmin blog, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Garmin Connect+ review, the5krunner, updated October 8, 2026.
- Kyde: Realtime Running Coach, App Store listing, consulted October 23, 2026.
- StrideCue: AI Cadence Coach, App Store listing, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Stride AI: Run Coach, App Store listing, consulted October 23, 2026.
- Leo Training, Leo Training, consulted October 23, 2026.